Artist Jay-Jays
Album Jay-Jays
Format LP
Label Pseudonym
Release date 2013-04-13

Availability: In stock

Delivery Time: 2-4 Tage

€ 19.50
Incl. 19% Tax, excl. Shipping Cost excl. Payment Cost
Share via
At the end of 1965, four members of The Hagues popular Jumping Jewels dumped their manager and struck out on their own as the Jay-Jays. With the name change came a new musical direction, a pent-up beat music sound inspired by the Beatles, the Who and, especially, the Kinks. Their first single, Bald Headed Woman, was a Top 10 smash. The Jay-Jays most impressive recordings were all released within the span of one tumultuous, action-packed year: 1966. Their self-titled album included such Dutch beat gems as Come Back If You Dare, I Keep Tryin, Today Im Gay and the fuzz-packed instrumental Cruncher. Every one of those jumping 66 jewels can be heard on this twelve-inch platter, remastered in dynamic mono sound, each sounding louder, more vibrant, and more crunch-filled than ever before. The album is supplemented by three non-LP single sides, and a previously unreleased instrumental demo version of Are You A Woman. The package includes full liner notes by Mike Stax of Ugly Things magazine. Music Style: Beat, Mod. Exclusively restored dynamic 24 bit remastering from the original master tapes. LP high quality 180 gram audiophile pressing on WHITE vinyl with original restored artwork, housed in deluxe 350 gram carton gatefold sleeve. Rare archival photos included


A1 Come Back If You Dare (2:24)
A2 Don't Sell The Sun (2:28)
A3 So Mystifying (2:52)
A4 Cruncher (3:18)
A5 A Distant Place (1:56)
A6 Bald Headed Woman (2:35)
A7 Are You A Woman (2:33)
A8 'Cause You're Mine, Baby (3:14)
B1 I Got Love If You Want It (3:00)
B2 Today I'm Gay (2:36)
B3 All Around The World (2:31)
B4 Shake It Some More (3:02)
B5 The Name Of You (2:26)
B6 I Keep Tryin' (2:02)
B7 Waauw! (2:30)
B8 Are You A Woman (Demo) (2:38)